Challenge to Write More

Whenever I write I feel better, somehow more productive and accomplished. But I don’t write often – I mean look at how sporadic my past blog posts are… Being inconsistent is my biggest flaw (in my opinion). So I want to challenge myself to write more. For no other particular reason than to keep myself accountable, I’m pledging to write a blog post every week through the end of 2016.

This blog doesn’t have a strict “editorial mission statement” or goals for readership, unlike all the writing I do for work. This blog is instead a stream of conciousness around things I find interesting. Being scatter-brained I often get excited about something, but don’t ever really explore it. Surface-level interest. I want to force myself to think about things deeper, take a stand on something. Writing once a week will hopefully force me to do this and go beyond my comfort zone. 

I have an arbitrary list of topics started, but not nearly enough to fill the whole remainder of the year. I’m a little terrified that I might get writer’s block, want to quit, or give up… But that’s the whole point, right? I need to get over my tendency to back out of personal commitments. It’s easy to justify quitting when I’m the only person being let down. When things get hard (or I get lazy), I need to remember the reason I started this challenge in the first place – personal growth and a commitment to my own happiness. 

Challenge accepted! xoxo

Leave a Reply

