Reading Hiatus

I’ve always been the one to pour over pages and pages, finishing three or more novels a month. That’s why it kills me to know that in 2015 I read less than 10 titles.

What happened to my previously obsessive reading habit? Did I fall out of love with reading?

It seemed impossible. My childhood memories are full of books. I hoarded series like The Babysitters Club, Boxcar Children, Little House on the Prairie, mysteries from Mary Higgins Clark, titles from Roald Dahl, classics like Anne of Green Gables, The Wind in the Willows… 

The ages at which I read each title are extremely blurry, but I recall the stories and obsessing over each. I brought my books to church, to restaurants, to family events, and had a stack for every road trip. I often got in trouble for staying up too late reading.

So why in the world have I let my passion for books dwindle. My reading habit is one I hold dear to my heart.

Maybe I was disappointed by one to many book… In 2015 I certainly started more than 10 titles, but abandoned them after my 100-page rule. Nothing held my interest.

But I recently picked up a book that reminded me how much I love to read. The Magician’s Book: A Skeptic’s Adventures in Narnia. It pulled apart the intricacies of the Narnia series, its symbols, histories, implications, possible hidden agendas… I hadn’t taken the time to evaluate a story in this manner since high school.

I was reminded about the art of fiction.

I instantly wanted to kick my hiatus. Enough was enough.

So where to start? Without a book club to pick for me, I was somewhat paralyzed by all the options. Even my own bookshelf is full of 20+ unread titles…

Luckily POPSUGAR created an “ultimate reading list” that is designed to transport, teach and push boundaries. It provides prompts, not titles. I love it…

I’m hoping it solves all my hiatus issues. Bored? Turn to the list. Paralyzed with options? Turn to the list. There is no more room for excuses 🙂

What are you reading this year?

Leave a Reply

